SaaS Management

Subscribe to all Changelog posts via RSS to stay updated on everything we ship at Nudge Security.

Nudge Security designates a technical contact for every app in your environment. This should be someone with administrative privileges within the app who can serve as the point-person for all questions and requests related to the technical aspects of managing that app, including access controls. While the first user of an app can often fill that role, employee turnover and team changes can sometimes make it challenging to figure out who to turn to for help with tasks like onboarding or offboarding users.

Now, we’ve introduced a new nudge to help you find and validate the right technical contact for an app. With this nudge, you can send an email or Slack message to the person currently designated as an app's technical contact asking them to confirm whether or not they’re the right person for that role. If they aren’t the right contact, they’ll have the opportunity to identify the right contact, helping you keep this information up to date.

Nudge Security has added a new filter enabling you to filter apps by technical contact. Now, you can see a list of all applications assigned to a particular technical contact and, if needed, edit them in bulk to reassign them.

Now, you can more easily update statuses or add context to your applications within Nudge Security by selecting and editing multiple apps at once. From the App view, you can bulk edit fields like an application’s labels, category, technical contact, approval status, and compliance scope, among others.

We’ve released a new playbook to automate the process of removing abandoned accounts. Now, you can reduce unnecessary risks by minimizing your attack surface and eliminate wasted SaaS spend on unused accounts. Using the playbook, you can:

  • Choose a list of applications to audit all at once, including apps your users may have forgotten about.
  • Collect input from your workforce at scale to identify unused accounts.
  • Delegate the work of removing unused accounts to app owners. 
  • Track your progress toward eliminating wasted spend and unnecessary risk.

Learn more in today’s blog.

When Nudge Security identifies abandoned accounts at your organization, you may need help from a user with administrative privileges for that app to delete them. To help you identify users with admin privileges, Nudge Security automatically designates a technical contact for each application, starting with the first user of that app. You can also reassign technical contacts manually as needed.

Now, Nudge Security has added the ability to nudge technical contacts to assist with deleting or suspending abandoned accounts and reclaiming unused licenses. The technical contact will receive a list of abandoned accounts and instructions to confirm once they have performed the appropriate actions. Once they confirm that the accounts have been removed, the account statuses will be updated automatically within Nudge Security.

Nudge Security has added new ways for you to identify and track whether your employees’ accounts are still active, enabling you to delete abandoned accounts, reclaim unused licenses, and clean up orphaned data. 

Now, when you nudge users to ask if they’re still using an account, their answers will automatically apply account statuses within Nudge Security. In addition, for applications provisioned through SSO, Nudge Security will now automatically mark accounts as inactive after 90 days of inactivity. 

To visualize this information, we’ve added a graph displaying account statues on each application’s overview page that can be changed manually or updated automatically in the following ways: 

  • Deleted - User has responded to a nudge saying, “Account has been deleted,” or the account has been marked as deleted through the SOC 2 access review playbook or employee offboarding playbook
  • Active - User has responded to a nudge saying, “I’m still using it” or there is still activity in the SSO provider
  • Access revoked - Account access has been removed through the employee offboarding playbook
  • Abandoned - User has responded to a nudge saying, “No, I’m not using this”
  • Inactive - App is provisioned through SSO and the account has had no activity for 90 days

Nudge Security provides a variety of editable fields for each application and account in your environment, such as approval status, compliance scope, and SSO provider. Now, we’ve made it easier for you to understand how and when these fields are modified over time. 

Any time a field update occurs, Nudge Security tracks when it happened and which user or automated process initiated it. You can view a timestamped list of each field’s history to understand when changes have occurred and who made them.

For each application your employees are using, Nudge Security provides contextual information that you can use to accelerate security reviews.

We've enhanced this security context by adding a summary of the forms of multi-factor authentication each application offers. Now, you can easily assess which options are most appropriate for your workforce, or determine if an application doesn’t meet corporate security guidelines if the available options aren’t sufficient.

We’ve just released the ability to revoke OAuth grants for Google Workspace and Microsoft 365 directly within Nudge Security. This new feature builds on the OAuth risk scores we delivered earlier this year by making it faster and easier to respond to risky OAuth grants. We’ve also added more context to our OAuth overviews to help you understand the permissions a grant has authorized. When Nudge Security shows you an OAuth grant with overly-permissive scopes, you can revoke it in just two clicks. 

With this new functionality, you can:

  • Detect, investigate, and revoke risky OAuth grants without switching between different environments.
  • Easily clean up OAuth grants for departing employees during IT offboarding.
  • Swiftly quarantine a breached app in your SaaS supply chain by identifying and revoking active OAuth grants.

Check it out in the interactive demo below, and read more in our blog post.

We’ve released a new feature to give you more visibility of groups at your organization and their privacy settings, along with how and when they’re being used to create shared accounts. 

The new group analysis functionality allows you to:

  • Identify the groups in use at your organization and discover any accounts that have been created using that group
  • Check which users can see a group’s emails, which gives them the ability to reset passwords for any accounts set up for the group
  • Ensure each group has appropriate privacy settings

Learn more about the security risks of using groups for SaaS access in our blog post.

See what you've been missing.